The Aureto vineyard produce a range of wines including appellations of the Ventoux, Luberon and the Vaucluse protected geographical indication, set in the very heart of the Luberon Region.

 

These wine cuvées have won some of the most prestigious awards in national and international competitions.


  • Aureto Winery

    working as a team...


    Within a few kilometers of the Ventoux mountain known as the 'giant of Provence' and at the very heart of the Luberon Region Natural Park, the Aureto wines are some of the most reputed of the local vineyards. Surrounded by lavender, cypress trees and Roman-tiled mas houses, the vines flourish in the ideal Mediterranean climate. Aureto offers a range of wines including protected appellations (AOP) of the Ventoux, Luberon and the Vaucluse protected geographical indication. These cuvées closely reflect the soul and authenticity of the world renowned Luberon area.


    Thanks to the work of the entire team, here at Aureto, our wines have obtained a number of awards in some of the most prestigious national competitions and appear in the best French and International wine guides. The range of wines is mainly red but there also some rosés and white.

    The different cuvées have a variety of tastes, according to the various methods of wine-making, ageing and varieties of grape used. The daily work on the vines has a vital impact on the quality of these wines. Among some of the great wines of the region, the cuvées from Aureto vineyard are today sold to individuals in our sales area and online shop, by wine merchants and restaurant owners all over France but also in more than ten other countries internationally.  


Our
History

Since 2006...

Andreas RIHS & Werner et Carmen Wunderli


Aureto which means 'a light breeze' in the ancient Provençal dialect, was created with a view to breathing new life into the vineyard which had unimagined potential. As soon as the first harvests were underway the aim was clearly to benefit from the qualities of the "terroir" or local land.

In 2007, Aureto vinified its first harvest, and thus the new era began. The previous year the Domaine de la Coquillade had been purchased by three Provence enthusiasts, Andreas RIHS and Werner and Carmen Wunderli, who provided a new dynamic to the perfect Luberon setting. The vineyard was swiftly restructured : some areas were dug up and new vines with new varieties of grapes were planted, the soil was worked mechanically to avoid chemical treatment and new vine supports were installed. From the outset, the objective was that the vines should be capable of producing quality wines. A new cellar was built to facilitate a better quality work environment. The winds of the South of France continued to inspire us in the creation of our new cuvées which were christened accordingly : Autan, Tramontane, Maestrale and even Tempesta.

At the same time a luxury tourist complex for oenotourism was developed with a 5 star hotel, 3 restaurants and a spa nestled among the vines. The name "La Coquillade" was chosen for the hotel.

  • The Vineyards

    36 hectares of vines (88 acres)


    The Aureto vines are located on some of the most emblematic areas of the Luberon, near the villages of Gargas, Gordes, Oppède and Bonnieux. No less than fifteen varieties of grape ensure the quality and diversity of each vintage.

    The vineyard covers 36 hectares of land. 20 hectares are located around La Coquillade near Gargas. The other vines stand near the beautiful villages of Gordes, Oppède and Bonnieux. Aureto grows fifteen varieties of grape : the regional classics like Syrah and Grenache but also Caladoc, Marselan and Chenanson which are less well known. This diversity makes it possible to produce wines with character, perfectly adapted to the local environment, whether AOP Ventoux, AOP Luberon or IGP Vaucluse. The soil which is predominantly calcareous-clay adds a certain delicacy to the wine and the Mediterranean climate guarantees its natural richness. The delicate balance of these two elements makes the Aureto wines quite noble.


Our
Expertise

Cultivation Methods at Aureto

Environmental Responsibility

A team of young enthusiastic experts have free reign to develop the best of the Luberon and Ventoux vineyards.

Combining a certain sensitivity to the local environment with their technical skills, the Aureto team is above all composed of people who are passionate about wine. Since 2009 Aurélie Julien has been in charge of the wine-making from the vine to the bottle. Convinced that the quality of the wines depends on how the vines are tended, she has implicated sustainable methods, respecting the environment.

"We often visit the different parts of the vineyard with our technical advisor to monitor them closely. Any changes that we make are based on forecast models and are established according to the vines needs and the weather," she explains.

As a rule we opt for the least intrusive methods such as taking away the leaves from the grape clusters or "green harvesting" to reduce the development of the diseases which prefer damp and confinement. Since the very beginning of Aureto our philosophy has been to respect the environment. In fact since 2009 no insecticides have been used. We prefer to work the soil mechanically rather than using chemical herbicides. In order to improve the microbiology of the soil vegetable compost (green manure) is regularly added.


Once the best grapes have been harvested, the fruits are taken to the cellar where the winemakers work to harness the aromatic and gustative potential of the fruit.
The vinification is undertaken most carefully. The cellar is equipped with Ganimède vats, which use a natural fermentation method to stir the wine gently rather than using pumps. This process guarantees that the wines are more flexible and makes the extraction stage much easier. The wines for the most part aged in stainless steel vats to conserve the freshness of the fruit. Some of the wines are aged in oak barrels making them more complex in character.

Technical
team

The Aureto team makes it their daily work to carefully tend to all areas of the vineyard and to each cuvee. They found their work on a delicate combination of tradition and modernity to produce these harmonious wines.

 

Oenologist, Aurelié Julien heads up the technical team at Aureto and is from the nearby town of Apt. She holds a winemaking and oenology degree, a masters in the Science of the Vine and a oenology diploma from the University of Montpellier. Aurelie organizes all the work on the vines. Every day, her team of technicians take care of the various areas of the vineyard meticulously. In the cellar Aurelie is assisted by a wine merchant to vinify and age the different Aureto cuvées.  Finally external experts, a consultant oenologist and an agronomist, are also called upon to contribute their support and experience and accompany her choices.

The team combines its various complementary skills and to produce new generous wines with sincerity and authenticity.


creation vinium
You just added to your cart
Total

Au coeur du Parc naturel Régional du Luberon, Aureto propose une gamme de vins en appellations Ventoux, Luberon et en Indication géographique Protégée Vaucluse.

Des cuvées dont la qualité a été distinguée par les plus grands concours nationaux et internationaux.
  • Aureto Vignoble

    le travail de toute une équipe...

    A quelques dizaines de kilomètres du «Géant de Provence», le Mont Ventoux, et au coeur du Parc Naturel du Luberon, les vins Aureto s'imposent parmi les grands noms du vignoble. Entre lavandes, cyprès et mas à tuiles romanes, les vignes s'épanouissent sous un climat méditerranéen idéal. Sur 36 hectares de vignes, Aureto propose une gamme de vins en appellations d'origine protégée Ventoux et Luberon et Indication géographique protégée Vaucluse. Des cuvées reflétant au plus près l'âme et l'authenticité d'un terroir aux accents bien affirmés.

    Grâce au travail de toute une équipe, les vins Aureto ont glanées de nombreuses médailles dans les plus grands concours nationaux et se sont distingués dans les meilleurs guides français et internationaux. La gamme est principalement en rouge, mais laisse une place confortable pour les blancs et les rosés. Les différentes cuvées produites offrent une diversité gustative, apportée par le mode de vinification, d'élevage ou par les cépages utilisés. Le travail journalier dans les terres a une incidence capitale sur la qualité des vins.
    Figurant parmi les grands noms de la région, les cuvées d'Aureto Vignobles sont aujourd'hui distribuées auprès des particuliers, dans notre espace de vente et sur notre boutique en ligne, chez les cavistes et restaurateurs dans toute le France, mais également à l'international dans une dizaine de pays.
Notre
Histoire

dès 2006...

Andreas RIHS & Werner et Carmen Wunderli

Aureto, brise légère en provençal, a été créé pour donner un souffle nouveau à un vignoble au potentiel insoupçonné. Dès ses premières vendanges, l'objectif a été de mettre en valeur toutes les qualités de ses terroirs.

En 2007, Aureto vinifie sa première vendange. Le renouveau était engagé. L'année précédente, le rachat du Domaine de La Coquillade par trois amoureux de la région, Andreas RIHS et Werner et Carmen Wunderli, donnait en effet une nouvelle impulsion à ce joyau du Luberon.
Rapidement, le vignoble est complètement restructuré : arrachages de certaines parcelles pour laisser place à de jeunes vignes et à des nouveaux cépages, travail des sols pour limiter les traitements, installation de nouveaux palissages... Dès le départ, l'objectif est de rendre les parcelles le plus apte possible à donner de grands vins. Une nouvelle cave est construite afin d'offrir un outil de travail de qualité.
Les vents du sud de la France ont continué de nous inspirer pour créer nos cuvées avec des noms évocateurs : Autan, Tramontane, Maestrale ou encore Tempesta.

Parallèlement, un complexe oenotouristique de luxe avec un hôtel 5 étoiles, 3 restaurants et un spa blottis au coeur du vignoble ont vu le jour. Le nom de « La Coquillade » est conservé pour l'hôtel.
  • le Vignoble

    Un vignoble de 36 hectares

    Les vignes d'Aureto se situent sur les terroirs de communes emblématiques du Luberon : Gargas, Gordes, Oppède et Bonnieux. Pas moins d'une quinzaine de cépages assure à chaque millésime qualité et diversité.

    Le vignoble se compose de 36 hectares. On retrouve une vingtaine d'hectares autour de La Coquillade sur la commune de Gargas. Les autres vignes se situent sur les terroirs des admirables communes de Gordes, Oppède et Bonnieux. Aureto cultive une quinzaine de cépages : les classiques régionaux comme la Syrah ou le Grenache, mais aussi le Caladoc, le Marselan ou le Chenanson, moins connus. Cette diversité permet de produire des vins de caractère et parfaitement adapté à leurs terroirs qu'ils soient en AOP Ventoux, AOP Luberon ou IGP Vaucluse. Le sol à dominante argilo-calcaire apporte sa finesse et le climat méditerranéen, assure beaucoup de richesse aux vins. Un équilibre qui fait la grandeur des vins d'Aureto.

Notre
Savoir Faire

Le mode de culture à Aureto

être responsable de notre environnement

Une équipe d'experts, jeunes et passionnés, a carte blanche pour exprimer le meilleur des vignobles du Luberon et du Ventoux.

Sensibilité aux terroirs et haute compétences techniques, l'équipe d'Aureto est avant tout composée d'experts passionnés. C'est Aurélie JULIEN qui dirige le travail de la vigne à la mise en bouteille depuis 2009. Persuadée que la qualité des vins se joue à la vigne, elle a mis l'accent sur une culture durable et respectueusement de l'environnement.
« Nous observons très régulièrement l'ensemble de nos parcelles en compagnie de notre conseiller technique viticole afin de suivre au plus près les évolutions. Les interventions s'appuient sur des modèles de prévision et sont raisonnées en fonction des besoins de la vigne et de la météo », expose-t-elle.

Les méthodes les moins intrusives sont ainsi privilégiées : il s'agit par exemple de l'effeuillage au niveau des grappes ou de « vendanges en vert » qui minimisent le développement de maladies qui aiment les milieux humides et confinés. Depuis la création d'Aureto, notre philosophie est d'être responsable de notre environnement. Ainsi, depuis 2009, aucun insecticide n'a été utilisé. Le travail mécanique des sols est privilégié, au détriment des désherbants chimiques. Afin de favoriser la vie microbienne des sols, des apports réguliers de compost végétal (engrais vert) sont effectués.

Une fois de beaux raisins récoltés, le travail en cave vise à respecter et conserver tout le potentiel aromatique et gustatif des fruits.
Les vinifications sont faites avec le plus grand soin, utilisant la gravité tant que cela est possible. La cave est équipée de cuves Ganimède. Ces cuves « bousculent » moins les vins permettant des remontages sans utilisation de pompes. Par ce procédé, les vins gagnent en souplesse et la maîtrise de l'extraction est beaucoup plus facile. Les vins sont pour la plus grande partie élevé en cuve inox, afin de préserver fruits et fraîcheur. Une partie d'entre eux est vinifiée et élevée en fûts de chêne pour leur apporter davantage de complexité.


L'équipe
Technique

L'équipe technique d'Aureto s'attache jour après jour à accompagner avec soins chaque parcelle et chaque cuvée. Elle s'appuie sur un subtil mariage de tradition et de modernité pour faire naitre des vins harmonieux.

Oenologue originaire d'Apt, Aurélie JULIEN est à la tête de l'équipe technique d'Aureto. Titulaire d'un BTS Viticulture-Oenologie, puis d'une Maîtrise des Sciences de la Vigne, elle a complété son cursus en obtenant le Diplôme National d'Oenologue à la Faculté de Pharmacie de Montpellier. Aurélie organise tout le travail à la vigne. Son équipe de techniciens apporte jour après jour le meilleur soin à chaque parcelle. En cave, Aurélie est aidée par son caviste, pour vinifier, élever et assembler toutes les cuvées. Enfin, des intervenants extérieurs, un oenologue-conseil et un ingénieur agronome ajoutent leur soutien et leur expérience pour conforter Aurélie dans ses choix.
Une équipe qui allie des compétences diverses et complémentaires pour donner naissance à des vins généreux, sincères et authentiques.

creation vinium
Vous venez d'ajouter à votre panier
Total